On The Tee 2/02/2018

 In On The Tee

On the tee

The incredible scoring of late has shown no sign of abating as Scott Matheson shot a scintillating round of 6 under par 46pts to win Saturday’s stableford event by four strokes over Dennis Lowe, Scott McMah (41) rounded out third and the scratch is in the hands of Phil Campbell with one over par.

Greg Murray and Adam Batchelor were tied at the top of B grade after both players registered 42pts, in the end Murray got the upper hand on a countback. Jeff Williams was only a shot further away in third and the scratch went the way of Owen Moss on 21pts.

McMah and the promising Adrian Haynes combined beautifully to record 47pts and the 2BBB win on a countback over Matheson and Brian Walsh. Campbell completed the scratch double after teaming with Jason Walsh to shoot 38pts.

The popular ‘Aussie Six Pack’ was at the forefront of our Australia Day celebrations and it was Mitch Lamb that shot the lights out with a brilliant 48pts to leave Adam Batchelor (45) and Peter Fitzsimmons (44) in his wake while the scratch went to Adrian Haynes on 35pts.

In the teams event Lamb and Batchelor were an unassailable force after returning a whopping 96pts, Fitsimmons and Kel Cooke were well back down the straight in second on 75pts.

Warren Matthews wound back the clock to recapture that little bit of brilliance he was known for in his younger days, his 45pts securing Thursday’s A grade stableford by four strokes over Brian Hope, Paul Francis-Farmer (39) snuck in for third and excitement machine that is Andy Campbell came away with the scratch honours on 39pts

The procession of hot scoring continued on in B grade, this time Tim Leahy had a lovely 44pts to hold Bob Hoffman and Neil Larcombe at bay after both had 40pts. Leo ‘rocky’ Evans left as the scratch champion with 23pts.

Evans made it a doubly good outing as he and Greg Burgess manufactured 50 stableford points to win the 2BBB from Geoff Arrow and Richard Northey. Andy Campbell did complain of sore shoulders in carrying Darryn Bruce to the scratch title on 40pts.

Sam Cross was the man on Sunday courtesy of 43pts and a two stroke victory over Josh Toole and Bill Casey who both had 41pts.